The Titan Project – Week 16

Here we are then, pretty much 4 months down the line and having got a good amount done over the Easter break I finally feel like I’m getting somewhere now!

First off, I have now completed the legs! I added some Forge World Aged Rust powder here and there and then gave it a blast of varnish to seal the powder and couldn’t really think of anything else to do which would improve the look…  so that must mean the legs are finished 🙂

 

photo 5

photo 4

 

I also added a few lines of AK’s Streaking Grime to aid the oily/rusty effect but I kept it to a minimum because this is a Mechanicum God engine of the Legio Astorum dammit! When she is not deployed servitors are all up in her grill with WD40 and Turtle Wax! Decrepit and rusty machines are the domain of Chaos!

 

photo 3

photo 2

 

With the legs completed I started on the markings and details. I’ve been worrying about doing this for some time because there isn’t really any margin for error. If I messed it up then I probably would’ve shelved this beast for a while until I could figure out how to fix it – thankfully, it all went swimmingly!

The first thing to do was add the hazard stripes on the carapace. This is an idea I shamelessly plundered from YouTube painting ninja; TemplarsCrusade01. He’s seriously good, so feel free to go and watch some of his stuff. Anyway, the first job was to matt varnish the carapace and then mask it off.

 

photo 1

photo 1 (3)

 

It was then time for the scary stuff. I loaded some Vallejo White into the airbrush and let loose!

 

photo 2 (3)

 

After what seemed like an age (probably only about 30 mins) and a few mugs of tea, I carefully peeled off the masking tape with my fingers firmly crossed. I was rewarded for my (im)patience with this…

 

photo 4 (3)

photo 3 (3)

 

I’m pretty pleased with how this has turned out and yes, there is a bleed or two here and there but it could’ve been a hell of a lot worse! Once I was sure it was all dry, I went and tidied up the bleeds as needed and then set about doing the next stage of the scary stuff – the Legio Astrorum Eclipse icon. I’ve done a lot of research online to see how other people have done theirs and I read the Forge World Masterclass book thoroughly as well to make sure I was well prepared.

The plan was to draw round a penny, cut a disc of Frisket Film out and push it on to the other side of the carapace. That’s the nice easy bit done. Next comes the make of break airbrushing again but this time with a little less margin for error. The idea is to create a visible corona with light and careful airbrushing. After doing this and waiting for around 20 mins, it was moment of truth time and i peeled off the film disc.

 

photo 1 (2)

 

To be honest, I was VERY happy with that result. It’s the first time I’ve attempted anything like that and it worked a treat. Once I’d finished patting myself on the back I meticulously painted the black eclipse silhouette and started added details here and there, such as the lights and lenses on the cockpit.

 

photo 3 (2)

photo 5 (2)

 

That’s where I am now. I think I’ll finish the detailing and then glue the leg armour on before I start messing around with the internals.

As always, thanks for reading and all comments and feedback appreciated.

 

Neil

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Titan Project – Week 16

  1. docbungle says:

    Reblogged this on Miniature Musings of a Bear and commented:
    Still going strong. 4 months :O

Leave a Reply

